A great love

A great love, is a lot like a good memory. When it’s there, and you know it’s there, but it’s just out of your reach, it can be all that you think about. You can focus on it and try to force it, but the more you do, the more you seem to push it away. But if you’re patient and you hold still, then maybe, just maybe, it’ll come to you ~ Leonard Church

We all think about it time to time. Will we be able to find a girlfriend/boyfriend? Everybody seems to be getting attached, what about me? We all cherish this idea of having someone to love, someone to hug, someone to be able to let loose, goof off and have fun. In the past two years, I’ve encountered one such scenario, where news spread that love was in the air. Well, for two of my classmates, at least. This caused widespread gossiping sessions, which I refused to take part in for one simple reason. I simply couldn’t fathom why we as humans find such matters so juicy. Current affairs of our country? Nah. The latest relationship rumors? Sign me up! I mean, we’re so caught up with the matters that don’t affect our lives at all, and yet we are so foolishly apathetic to matters that will affect us. This is something I wonder why all the time, but can never get an answer. So, sorry guys. No definite answer for you today.

Another thing that has puzzled me all this while is why we feel the need to constantly worry and wonder about whether we will be able to meet that special someone in our lives. After all, I believe that our Mr/Ms Right will appear before us eventually. We just have to have to courage to seize that opportunity when it arises.

I get it though. I can totally understand why we would feel in such a way. I myself am not spared from such feelings of loneliness and emptiness, and that yearning to have that special someone to hold in my arms and feel her warm embrace. I think about her more often than not, and honestly she’s really one of the few things that’s bringing me joy to my life. Just regular conversations with her over Whatsapp can bring the brightest smile to my face. On one hand, I want to keep my cool and play it confident and reserved. But on the other hand, I really just want to be able to be with her and be the little kid I really am, and the former is made much more difficult when my heart has been stolen by her. But nonetheless, I embrace the idea of personal space openly, and I feel that’s what has gotten me this far. After all, who likes someone who smothers us with affection and attention all the time? Trust me, I’ve seen such cases, and it wasn’t pretty.

So heed my advice, learn to just let go and let fate do the deciding. We will all encounter that special someone somewhere, and when we do, it is important to make full use of your opportunity, while simultaneously remembering to practice personal space, no matter how much it sucks. Personally, I do have that special someone in mind already, and I’m slowly but surely working to it. Hopefully a year from now, I can read this article, but this time, I’d have someone to read it to.

Leave a comment